Follow Your Dreams!...Or Maybe Don't

I am filled with absolute terror whenever I get a message like this in my inbox:

"You inspired me to quit my job to make indie games!"

(emphasis mine)

For those of you new to this blog, my name is Lars Doucet, I'm an independent game developer, and my company

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://www.fortressofdoors.com/follow-your-dreams-or-maybe-dont/

Great post!

One of the biggest problems with following your dreams is that… they come from you! I mean, that sounds like a good thing at first, but if I’m honest with myself, many of my dreams and ideas are selfish, prideful, or just plain bad. I have horrible dreams sometimes. I’d be nuts to have followed all of them.

Now, I’ve made a decent living in the business of video game development myself, and that’s gone beyond what my dreams would have expected. But it’s not for everyone. Some days, it doesn’t even feel like it’s for me.

Wow, that Mike Rowe talk, such a good speaker and with a point.

I would say passion is important, right after survival (or perhaps we only survive cause we want to do something), passion and goals makes people move forward and make progress, either financially, self improvement, relationships, world domination, etc…

I would put in cause the passion to make games, the passion to make drawings, the passion to make animations, programming, acting etc… sure its enjoyable and keeps the mind occupied but its not an end in itself, its an error to go for something because “its something i like to do and maybe i can make a living or get rich out of that” thats boring!